Saturday, October 25, 2008

BU Open Sat Nov 1

Sat., Nov. 1, 2008

14th annual

Boston University Open

(in association with the Boylston Chess Foundation)

4-SS; G/60; 3 Sections: Open; U1900; U1600

Boston University,
George Sherman Union
775 Commonwealth Ave. Boston 02215

Parking is across University road just before the BU bridge on the same side of Comm. Ave. as the George Sherman Union.

E F:
$15 for BU students (BUID)
$20 if check received by Oct 30
$20 by email by Oct 30
$30 for all others at site

Cash Prizes: based on Entries. In past years the prize fund has been more than $1000 and the first prize around $300. Because prize checks will be mailed by Boston University, winner must provide home address and social security number to receive a check.
Open section: 1st & 2nd / Top under 2200
U1900 section: 1st & 2nd
U1600 section: 1st & 2nd l/ Top under 1200
Allan Ong Prize for the top undergraduate college student:

Trophies for 3 player teams: Top college / Top high school / Top elementary or middle school

NC, NS, W.

Reg: 9:00 - 9:45 am
Rds: 10:00, 12:30, 2:45, 5:00

Ent: send name, section desired, USCF number and check
made out to the BU Chess Club to
BU Open Entries
c/o Robert Oresick
Boston University
871 Commonwealth Ave.
Boston, MA 02215
phone: 617 794 -1200
website at :

Historical background.

The Boston University Open is the BU Chess Club's premier event. The idea of having an inexpensive convenient rated event was suggested by the club President Allan Ong to promote playing serious tournament chess among college players, though all chess players are welcomed. Since the first BU Open in 1995, players ranging from beginners in their first rated tournament ( e.g. the club advisor Robert Oresick) to strong players from around the East Coast (and in the Frenklakh years, from California) have tried their hand at winning the top prize (including former US Chess Champions GM Joel Benjamin, GM Alexander Ivanov and former US Women's Champion WIM Esther Epstein (who works at Boston University).)

After 12 years, the BU Open is still inexpensive, convenient, and competitive. The BU Open is an all-day event with four rounds of non-stop chess action. From the first round at 10 am to the end of the last game at around 7 pm each player gets a full day of exciting chess action. There is no elimination. In the Swiss tournament system each person plays all four games - pairings at each round are based on results, so as one wins, one plays against others also having a good day. One of the delights of a rated chess event is that competition is fierce, especially during the latter rounds. No quarter is given or offered between those in contention of the top prize. Not only does the winner receive cash (usually around $300 based on entries) for his efforts, but also s/he is immortalized by having his/her name inscribed on the perpetual plaque.

The first BU Open was held on November 18, 1995 and was won by Prof. and National Master (NM) Timothy Sage of Northeastern University, outscoring FM Bill Paschall who was a BU student and BUCC member at the time.

Then, in 1996, the four-way tie included Daniel Bartley, Andrey Shlyakhter, Ray Sayers, and Mike Henroid of Boston College.

In 1997 Harvard student NM Jacob Chudnovsky won.

The 1998 tournament honors were shared by FIDE Master (FM) Bill Kelleher and NM Klaus Pohl. FM Kelleher's win was a milestone in itself as it marked him as the first BU (graduate) student to win the tournament.

The 1999 BU Open was to that date, the largest in the tournament's history. A record 93 players attended, including former US Champion GM Alexander Ivanov, the then current US Champion GM Joel Benjamin, and former US Women's Champion WIM Esther Epstein, and FM Bill Kelleher (a BU alum) who scored 4 points and won a clear first place and $350, helped by the drawn result when the two GMs faced one-another. Ivanov and Benjamin shared 2nd place, and they each received $90.

In year 2000, the new millennium marked the return of now International Master (IM) "Buccaneer Bill" Paschall to the BU Open, as he cruised to a perfect 4-0 to finish clear first.

Three persons shared the top spot in 2001, New York's FM Ronald Young tied with local masters FM William Kelleher and NM Alex Cherniak . FM Ron Young was also the first player outside of MA to win the tournament.

In 2002 FM Ronald Young of New York and expert Niman Kenkre shared top honors.

In 2003 GM Alexander Ivanov took the first place prize of $300, after some very exciting games, including a tense, time-pressured match with IM Bill Paschall.

In 2004 GM Ivanov won all four games for a repeat.

The co-winners in 2005 were FM Christopher Chase and NM Christopher Williams (Boston Latin.)

The co-winners for 2006 were GM Alexander Ivanov, FM William Kelleher, and Max Malyuta.

In 2007 Harvard freshmen FIDE master Teddy Coleman was the sole winner.

No comments: